Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2023?

Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021?
Rajasthan Royals [Image Source - IPL]

Rajasthan Royals, also known as RR, is a franchise-based cricket team that participates in the Indian Premier League. Sometimes IPL fans are interested to know, who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals. If you are one of those fans, don’t worry you will find detailed answers about the Rajasthan Royals owner here.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is one of the main eight teams to participate in the inaugural IPL edition in 2008. The franchise is based in the state of Rajasthan.

Led by veteran Australian cricketer Shane Warne, the Royals won the opening edition (2008) of IPL by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Even RR faced a two-year ban for involvement in the match-fixing scandal (2016, 2017). They are back in the IPL again from the 2018 season.

Also Read: Who is The Owner of CSK in IPL 2023?

Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals?

When the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the launch of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in September 2007. Then, in early 2008, eight teams representing eight different cities in India were auctioned off in Mumbai.

The Rajasthan Royals franchise was sold to Emerging Media IPL Limited (EMIPL) for $67 million, making it the lowest bid among the eight IPL teams.

Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals lead owner Manoj Badale speaks to the media at a press conference [Image Source – Getty]

According to IPL 2021, Manoj Badal (EMIPL) owns a 50.1% share of Rajasthan Royals. Which is more than other investors of RR. That is why Manoj Badale is considered the real owner of the RR franchise.

The other investors in the franchise include Suresh Chellaram, Lachlan Murdoch, and Shane Warne.

Also Read: Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner | Who is the owner of SRH in IPL 2023?

Earlier, Suresh Chellaram was the majority shareholder of RR (44.2%). EMPIL Ltd, which earlier held a 36.7% stake in RR, is said to have now bought an additional 13.4% stake from Kelowna Investment Ltd, a Nigeria-based company run by Indian businessman Suresh Chellaram.

Many believe that Bollywood star Shilpa Shetty and her husband Raj Kundra are one of the Rajasthan Royals’ owners. That’s not true. In fact, Shilpa Shetty bought an 11.7% stake in Rajasthan Royals in 2008 with her husband Raj Kundra. But, they later sold their ownership.

After IPL 2015, Raj Kundra was banned for life after getting involved in a controversy surrounding the match-fixing scandal.

Rajasthan Royals Owner and Team Details:

Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021?
Rajasthan Royals Logo
Team NameRajasthan Royals (RR)
Current OwnerManoj Badale (Majority Shareholder)
Current CEOMike Fordham
Team CaptainSanju Samson
Head CoachKumar Sangakkara (Director of Cricket Operations)
Home GroundSawai Mansingh Indoor Stadium

Also Read: Who is the Owner of Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2023?

Brand Value Of Rajasthan Royals:

After being successful in the IPL for the first few years, the franchise has failed to replicate its success over the past decade. They did not even reach the playoffs in the 2019 and 2020 IPL.

RR returned to the IPL in 2018 after being banned in 2016 and 2017 but its popularity has declined more than before.

Who is the owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021?
Rajasthan Royals Players in IPL 2021 [Image Source – Twitter/Rajasthan Royals]

The brand value of Rajasthan Royals in 2019 was around INR 271 crore. According to the Duff & Phelps report, in IPL 2020, the brand value of Royals decreased by 8.1% from 2019. This means that in 2020, the brand value of RR decreased to about INR 241 Crores.

However, it should be kept in mind that the brand value of almost all the teams has decreased as compared to 2019, as the 2019 IPL was played in a spectator-free stadium in the UAE.

Rajasthan Royals team brand value in IPL 2022 season was around 61 Million Dollars which is around 530 Crores in Indian currency.

Also Read: IPL All Season Points Table and Winners List (2008 to 2023)

Previous articleWest Indies Announces Squad For The T20 World Cup 2021
Next articleLasith Malinga Announces His Retirement From T20 Cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here