Who is the Owner of Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL 2023?

who is the owner of Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians [Image Source - IPL]

Mumbai Indians (MI), based in Mumbai, Maharashtra, is a franchise-based cricket team. Mumbai Indians have been playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since its inaugural edition in 2008. Sometimes fans are curious to know, who is the owner of Mumbai Indians (MI).

If you’re one of those fans then don’t worry you’ve come to the right place and you will find detailed answers about the Mumbai Indians owner.

Mumbai Indians Owner and Team Details:

Team NameMumbai Indians
Current OwnerReliance Industries
CEO/Team ManagerRahul Sanghvi
Captain of The TeamRohit Sharma
Head CoachMark Boucher
Home GroundWankhede Stadium

Also Read: CSK Owner 2023 | Who is The Owner of CSK?

Who is The Owner of Mumbai Indians:

The Mumbai Indians team is owned by Reliance Industries, India’s largest business conglomerate, through 100% subsidiary Indiawin Sports.

When the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCC) decided to establish the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2007, then in February 2008, eight franchises representing eight different cities in India were auctioned in Mumbai.

From that auction, the Mumbai-based franchise was bought by Reliance Industries in 2008 for $ 111.9 million, making it the most expensive team sold in the league. Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) owner Mukesh Ambani acquired the franchise rights for 10 years.

Who is the Owner of Mumbai Indians (MI)
Nita Ambani and Mukesh Ambani [Image – Getty]

Also Read: Who is the Owner of RCB in IPL 2023?

So Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) is the owner of Mumbai Indians. The Chairman and MD of RIL, Mukesh Ambani own a 100% stake in Mumbai Indians. However, his wife Nita Ambani is the co-owner of MI. He represented the face of the Mumbai Indians team with his eldest son Akash Ambani.

IPL fans may have seen Nita Ambani supporting her team in MI jersey. He is heavily involved in the activities of the MI team. Even during the IPL auction, Nita is a regular member of MI at the auction table with Akash Ambani.

Who is the Owner of Mumbai Indians
Akash Ambani & Nita Ambani during IPL Auction 2020 [Image – BCCI]

Also Read: IPL All Season Points Table and Winners List (2008 to 2023)

Mumbai Indians Team History:

The defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) is one of the original eight teams that have been participating in the IPL since the inaugural edition.

With five IPL trophies and two Champions League T20, Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of IPL.

Mumbai did not have a good start in the inaugural edition of the league in 2008. Sachin Tendulkar was the first captain for the Mumbai Indians, followed by Harbhajan Singh in the fifth season.

After the fifth season, Harbhajan Singh was replaced by Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma is the current captain of the team and Mahela Jayawardene is the head coach.

The Mumbai team has got a lot of success under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. In 2013, Mumbai won the IPL trophy for the first time under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

They defeated Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final to win their second IPL title on 24 May 2015 and they became the third team to win multiple IPL titles.

Also Read: Who is the Owner of Punjab Kings (PBKS) in IPL 2023?

Who is the Owner of Mumbai Indians (MI)
Mumbai Indians, IPL 2020 Champion [Image Source – Twitter/MI]

Brand Value of Mumbai Indians (MI):

As per the Duffs and Phelps’ annual IPL Brand Valuation Report, the brand value of MI was estimated at around ₹809 crores in 2019. Which is the highest among all IPL franchises for the fourth consecutive year.

Mumbai Indians, who have won five IPL titles, are still at the top of the list of most valuable franchises in the IPL in 2020. However, the brand value of Mumbai Indians has also declined by 5.9% over last year. The brand value of the franchise in 2019 is Rs 761 crore.

The main reason behind this is that the IPL matches of 2020 were held in a spectator-free stadium which resulted in a loss of revenue to the franchises as well as epidemics affecting business ties which affected the brand value of the teams.

Also Read: Who is the Owner of Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2023?

Sponsors of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023:

Principal Sponsors: Slice, DHL Express

Associate Sponsors: IDFC First Bank, Jio, Astral Pipes

Official Sponsors: Jio Cinema, Dream11, USHA, Garnier Men, Reliance Digital, Mahindra, Acko, Royal Challenge, Bisleri, BKT, Amul Organic, Performax, and others.

(Source: Mumbai Indians)

Previous articleWho is the Owner of Punjab Kings (PBKS) in IPL 2023?
Next articleICC T20 World Cup 2021: Schedule, All Team Squad, Groups, Team List & Time Table


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here