Who is the Owner of Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2022?

Delhi Capitals Owner: Delhi Capitals, also known as DC, is a cricket franchise that participates in the Indian Premier League. This team is one of the main 8 teams participating in the tournament from the inaugural edition (2008) of the IPL. IPL fans are often curious to know who is the owner of Delhi Capitals (DC)? No worries here you will find detailed answers about the Delhi Capitals owner.

When the team started its IPL journey in 2008, the team was known as Delhi Daredevils. The franchise was renamed Delhi Capitals (DC) in December 2018.

The Delhi franchise reached the semifinals in the opening season of the IPL but has not been successful since. However, after changing the name of the team in 2018, Delhi Capitals saw its best years in the IPL in 2019, 2020, and 2021.

Delhi Capitals Owner in IPL 2022:

When the BCCI announced the launch of the Indian Premier League in India in 2007 where the BCCI finalized the list of eight teams participating in the tournament. Those teams represented eight different cities in India. The teams were put up for auction in Mumbai on February 20, 2008, and the Delhi team was bought by property development company GMR Group for $84 million.

However, in March 2018, GMR Group sold 50% of its franchise to JSW Group for Rs 550 crore (approx US $85 million) resulting in a co-ownership between the two companies.

So until December 2018, GMR Group was the sole Delhi Capitals owner. However, at present GMR Group (50%) and JSW Group (50%) are the joint owner of Delhi Capitals.

Delhi Capitals Owner | Who is the Owner of Delhi Capitals
Kiran Kumar Grandhi ( GMR group) and Parth Jindal (JSW Group)

Also Read: CSK Owner 2022 | Who is The Owner of CSK?

The agreement between the two companies includes a shift to lead the team management every two years starting from IPL 2019.

In the last two IPL seasons i.e. 2019 and 2020 IPL, Chairman Perth Jindal (MD, JSW Group) led its activities at the management level of Delhi Capitals. However, for the next two years in the IPL, GMR Group (Kiran Kumar Grandhi) will act as the top management of Delhi Capitals.

Delhi Capitals Owner and Team Details:

Team NameDelhi Capitals (DC)
Current OwnerJSW Group (50%) and GMR Group (50%)
Team CEO Vinod Bisht
Team CaptainRishabh Pant
Head CoachRicky Ponting
Assistant CoachAjit Agarkar and Pravin Amre

Brand Value of Delhi Capitals:

Led by Shreyas Iyer, Delhi reached the play-offs in 2019 after 7 years and they won their first playoff match by two wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad. But in the second play-off match against Chennai Super Kings, they lost by six wickets and finished the tournament as the second runners-up.

In the last two years, Delhi has emerged as the most improved franchise in the IPL. Due to that, the brand value of Delhi Capitals has improved from the past.

The brand value of Delhi Capitals has skyrocketed in 2019 and 2020 compared to the previous year. According to a report by Duff and Phelps, Delhi Capitals suffered the lowest dip (around 1%) in their brand value among all IPL teams after the epidemic in 2020. The brand value of Delhi Capitals in 2019 IPL was 374 crores and in 2020 IPL it has come down to 370 crores rupees.

In 2021, the Delhi franchise received the most sponsorship from any other team. In 2021, they signed 25 sponsorship agreements.

Also Read: RCB owner 2022: Who is The Owner of RCB IPL Team?

Delhi Capitals Sponsors in IPL 2022:

Principal Sponsors – JSW, Apollo, Octa

Associate Sponsors – ACKO, Evolut, Dream11, Wrogn, Cup Noodles, JIO

Partners –BKT, Optimum Nutrition, Boat, Kotak, FanCode, Fever FM,

Delhi Capitals Performance History in IPL:

20084th out of 8Semifinalists (4th)
20091st out of 8Semifinalists (3rd)
20105th out of 85th
201110th out of 1010th
20121st out of 9Playoffs (3rd)
20139th out of 99th
20148th out of 88th
20157th out of 87th
20166th out of 86th
20176th out of 86th
20188th out of 88th
20193rd out of 8Playoffs (3rd)
20202nd out of 8Runners-up
20211st out of 83rd

Delhi Capitals Squad For IPL 2021:

Shreyas Iyer (c)
Shikhar Dhawan
Prithvi Shaw
Ajinkya Rahane
Rishabh Pant (wk)
Shimron Hetmyer
Marcus Stoinis
Chris Woakes
R Ashwin
Axar Patel
Amit Mishra
Kagiso Rabada
Anrich Nortje
Ishant Sharma
Avesh Khan
Steve Smith
Umesh Yadav
Ripal Patel
Vishnu Vinod
Lukman Meriwala
M Siddarth
Tom Curran
Sam Billings
Lalit Yadav
Pravin Dubey

Delhi Capitals Squad For IPL 2022:

Delhi Capitals Owner in IPL 2022
Delhi Capitals Squad For IPL 2022 [Image Source – Twitter/DC]

Batsman: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Ashwin Hebbar, Yash Dhull,

Wicket Keepers: Rishabh Pant, Tim Seifert, KS Bharat

All-Rounders: Axar Patel, Ripal Patel, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Vicky Ostwal

Bowlers: Anrich Nortje, Praveen Dubey, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Lungi Ngidi, Chetan Sakariya, Kuldeep Yadav.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Schedule [PDF]: Date, Time-Table, Venue, Group, Team List, Points Table, and More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *