Tim David Included in Australia’s T20 World Cup Squad 2022

Tim David Included in Australia's T20 World Cup Squad 2022
Tim David Included in Australia's T20 World Cup Squad 2022

Cricket Australia has announced their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Singapore-born Tim David, the 26-year-old hard-hitting batter, has been included in Australia’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022.

The same team led by Aaron Finch will travel to India for three T20Is, starting on September 21, and then return to play matches against England and West Indies in preparation for the mega tournament.

There aren’t a lot of other changes to the squad that won the T20 World Cup last year in UAE, apart from the absence of Mitchell Swepson. David is the only change from Australia’s 2021 T20 World Cup squad, replacing spinner Mitch Swepson to give Aaron Finch another option with the bat.

Also Read: List of Top 10 Biggest Cricket Stadiums in The World in 2022

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket,” national selector George Bailey said. “We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years,” Bailey added. 

Tim David Included in Australia's T20 World Cup Squad 2022
Tim David [Image Source – Getty Images]

Tim David, who has made a strong impact globally in T20 cricket, has never played for Australia. All his 14 T20Is, in which he has scored 558 runs – at an average of 46.50 and a strike rate of 158.52 – have come playing for Singapore, the country of his birth. His last international appearance was in March 2020, against Hong Kong.

Australia has maintained last year’s winning formula, with number one T20 bowler Josh Hazlewood leading the attack. Alongside him are Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Kane Richardson. Adam Zampa is the only specialist spinner in the squad.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

Josh Inglis also retains his place in the squad from last year which gives Australia plenty of batting options in addition to providing wicketkeeping backup to Matthew Wade.

The batting department will be handled by captain Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith, and David Warner. Ashton Agar and Marcus Stoinis will play the role of all-rounders.

The marquee tournament will begin on October 16 and the final will be held on November 13.

Australia’s T20 World Cup Squad 2022: 

Aaron Finch (C), Pat Cummins (VC), Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Previous articleAsia Cup 2022: Afghanistan Beat Sri Lanka in Asia Cup Opener
Next articleIND vs SA: Washington Sundar replaces Chahar for the last 2 ODIs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here