South Africa Announces Squad For The T20 World Cup 2021

On Thursday, South Africa have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman. Temba Bavuma will lead South Africa for the 2021 T20 world cup.

South African star spinner Imran Tahir, star all-rounder Chris Morris and former South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis have no place in the squad.

South Africa has added 3 spinners to its squad for the UAE’s spin-friendly condition. Keshav Maharaj has been named in South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad along with Bjorn Fortuin and Tabraiz Shamsi.

Maharaj, who has played 36 Tests and 14 ODIs, has yet to make his international T20 debut. But in 104 T20s, the left-arm spinner has 83 wickets and an economy of 6.62.

South Africa Squad For T20 World Cup 2021:

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, W Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Traveling Reserves: Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams, and George Linde

“The National Selection Panel and I are extremely excited to announce this squad, which we believe is a world-beating squad. It has been a busy last few months for the Proteas and we have had enough time to assess our options and we are pleased with the outcome,” said Victor Mpitsang (CSA Convenor of Selectors) in a statement.

South Africa is in Group 1 of the Super 12 with England, Australia, the West Indies, and two qualifiers. They will start their journey for the T20 world cup 2021 against Australia in Abu Dhabi on October 23.

Also Read:
1. England Announce Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021
2. BCCI Announces Team India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
3. Australia Announces Their Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
4. New Zealand Announces Squad for The T20 World Cup 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *