New Zealand Announces Squad for The T20 World Cup 2021

New Zealand squad for T20 World Cup 2021
New Zealand Men's cricket team [Image Source - Getty]

New Zealand Squad For T20 World Cup 2021: The 2021 ICC T20 World Cup is going to be held in the United Arab Emirates from October 19. On August 9 (Monday) New Zealand has announced their final squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021.

New Zealand’s veteran batsman Ross Taylor has not been included in the 15 members squad. All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme has also been dropped from the T20 World Cup squad.

At present Ross Taylor is especially famous in Tests and ODIs. He has not been seen playing for New Zealand in the short format since November 2020. Veteran Taylor has played a total of 102 T20 matches for New Zealand.

However, Kane Williamson will lead the New Zealand team for the 2021 T20 World Cup and Tim Seifert will be the wicket-kipper.

Also Read: Isuru Udana Announces Retirement From International Cricket

New Zealand’s announced squad includes 4 experienced fast bowlers: Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, and Kyle Jamieson. The team also has batsmen like Devon Conway and Martin Guptill.

The New Zealand squad also includes three spinners – Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi and Todd Astel. Daryl Mitchell and James Neesham have been named as all-rounders in the squad.

Fast bowler Adam Milne has been announced as an injury cover and he will travel to the United Arab Emirates with the team.

New Zealand squad for T20 World Cup 2021 and India T20s:

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee,
*Adam Milne (injury cover)

New Zealand’s Asian tour will start with a series against Bangladesh, they will leave for Bangladesh on August 23. They will play five T20s against Bangladesh and the team will be led by Tom Latham.

None of the members of the squad for the India tour and the ICC World T20 will be part of the Bangladesh tour. Apart from Sears, the same team will also play in three ODIs against Pakistan.

“Ross Taylor was selected for the three ODIs in Pakistan but, with the brief nature of the one-week series and the length of quarantine protocols, it was mutually agreed he would remain at home to prepare for the Indian Test tour and upcoming home summer.” NZC said.

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs:

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

New Zealand will play a five-match T20 series against Pakistan starting from September 25. In this series against Pakistan, some members of the World Cup squad – Todd Astel, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill and Ish Sodhi will also play.

Also Read: Bangladesh To Host New Zealand For 5 Match T20s in September 2021

Squad for Pakistan T20Is:

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young

Mr White has confirmed that the Blackcaps will be allowed to rejoin their franchises to play suspended matches of IPL 21 and that they will complete the competition when it resumes in September. “It’s a pragmatic approach,” said Mr White. “We’ve always tried to be realistic about the IPL and this particular issue is very much a one-off, caused by a unique set of circumstances.”

Previous articleICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022
Next articleWest Indies Announces 17-Member Provisional Squad For Pakistan Test Series


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here