New Zealand confirmed a 15-man squad for the WTC final against India

New Zealand squad for world test championship final
New Zealand Announced Squad For WTC Final. (c) Gettyimages

New Zealand announced the final 15-member squad for the World Test Championship final against India, starting from 18th June in Southampton.

Zealand announced the 20-member squad for the World Test final a few days ago. There were three uncapped players on that team – Rachin Rabindra, Devon Conway and Jacob Duffy.

This was the preliminary 20-man squad for the WTC Final and the Test series against England:

Kane Williamson (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wk), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Tom Blundell, Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, Doug Bracewell, Matt Henry, Will Young

But Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra and Mitchell Santner have been dropped from the 20-player initial squad. The New Zealand Cricket Board has made this decision after seeing the performance of the players in the two-Test matches against England.

“Doug, Jacob and Rachin have been selfless in their attitude to helping the team and supporting those in the playing XI.” New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said.

Test series results against England:

Recently, New Zealand won the series 1-0 against the hosts. Devon Conway scored 200 in his debut at Lord’s and 60 in the first innings of the second Test at Edgbaston. Conway has been included in the squad after seeing his outstanding performance against England.

New Zealand has selected Ajaz Patel as an expert spinner in their final 15-man squad for the final of the World Test Championship against India. Along with pacers like Matt Henry, Tent Boult and Neil Wagner.

Ajaz Patel has taken four wickets in two innings in the second Test. That’s why New Zealand has chosen Ajaz Patel as an expert spinner.

“We’ve gone with Ajaz as our specialist spinner after an impressive outing at Edgbaston and we believe he could be a factor at the Ageas Bowl,” Stead said.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final 2021, Date, Venue, Team Squad, Playing XI and Points Table

Squad details:

Colin D Grandhome has been named in the New Zealand squad for the WTC final, as an all-rounder, and Will Young has been named in the 15-member squad as a batting cover and Tom Blundell as a backup wicketkeeper.

“Colin’s been an integral member of our Test set-up for many years and it was great to see him return at Lord’s after a long injury lay-off. He’s a proven performer at the top level and we back him to do a job with the bat or the ball if called upon,” Stead added.

Mitchell and Bracewell will continue in the UK and will represent the Middlesex and Nottinghamshire in the T20 Blast, respectively.

“There’s had to be some tough calls with Mitchell and Daryl victims of the fierce competition we currently have for places in the Test side,”
“It’s not easy to say goodbye to guys who have given so much to the group,” Stead pointed out.

Kane Williamson and Co ready for the title clash:

Skipper Ken Williamson was forced to miss the second Test due to an elbow injury and wicketkeeper BJ Watling was ruled out of the playing XI due to injury.

However, Gary Steed has confirmed that both the cricketers have benefited from the weekend and they will recover in time and prepare for the WTC final against India.

Garry Stead also said that “Playing in a World Cup Final is a really special occasion and I know the guys are looking forward to getting into their work here in Southampton. India is a world-class outfit who possess match winners all through their line-up, so we’re under no illusion about how tough they will be to beat.” 

New Zealand final squad for the WTC final against India:

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

Previous articleIndian squad for Sri Lanka tour 2021: Dhawan named new captain
Next articleBCCI confirms the Indian squad for WTC final 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here