Lucknow Announces Replacement as Mark Wood Ruled Out of IPL 2022

Andrew Tye
Andrew Tye replaces injured Mark Wood at Lucknow Super Giants

England fast bowler Mark Wood has been ruled out of the upcoming Indian Premier League due to a right elbow injury sustained during the ongoing Test series between England and the West Indies. Lucknow Super Giants have replaced Mark Wood with Australian fast bowler Andrew Tye. 

Lucknow already has Sri Lankan fast bowler Dushmantha Chamera as another foreign fast bowling alternative and Jason Holder as a fast-bowling all-rounder. Now they ad Andrew Tye to their squad for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

Also Read: Which 4 Overseas Players will be in RCB’s Playing 11? See List

In the auction held in Bangalore in February this year, the Lucknow team bought Mark Wood for Rs 7.5 crore. But now he has been ruled out of IPL 2022 due to injury. Wood, who was ready to play for the Lucknow Super Giants, is said to be taking an indefinite break to evaluate and plan his recovery.

Andrew Tye, 35, has played 32 T20Is for Australia and picked 47 wickets. He has played 27 IPL games and managed to bag 40 wickets at an economy of 8.46 and an average of 21.8.

Tye has previously been part of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Rajasthan Royals (RR), and Gujarat Lions (GL) in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Also, He had won the Purple Cap in IPL 2018 for his 24 wickets in 14 games for Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab).

Andrew Tye is the second-choice replacement of Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). He has been roped in by Lucknow for the price of INR 1 Crore, a release stated.

Earlier it was heard that LSG will sign Bangladesh fast bowler Taskin Ahmed as Wood’s replacement. But Bangladesh pacer Taskin Ahmed was denied a No-Objection Certificate by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) because of national commitments.

Meanwhile, the KL Rahul-led Lucknow Super Giants will kick off its IPL journey against fellow debutant Gujarat Titans on March 28 at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

Lucknow Super Giants Squad For IPL 2022:

KL Rahul (c), Ravi Bishnoi, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Jason Holder, Manish Pandey, Quinton de Kock, Krunal Pandya, Andrew Tye, Krishnappa Gowtham, Dushmanta Chameera, Avesh Khan, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, Shahbaz Nadeem, Manan Vohra, Mohsin Khan, Ayush Badoni, Evin Lewis, Mayank Yadav, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma.

Also Read: Gujarat Titans Players List 2022, Schedule, Owner, Jersey, Captain, Coaches, Squad, Logo, and More

Previous articleGujarat Titans Players List 2022, Schedule, Owner, Jersey, Captain, Coaches, Squad, Logo, and More
Next articleIPL 2022: CSK vs KKR (Match – 1) Dream11 Prediction, Playing 11, Fantasy Tips, Pitch Report


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here