Jason Roy Joins KKR and Dasun Shanaka Joins Gujarat Titans For The Remainder Of IPL 2023

Jason Roy
Jason Roy and Dasun Shanaka [Image Source - Getty Images]

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have signed England’s opener Jason Roy for the remainder of IPL 2023. Jason Roy’s base price was 1.5 crores but went unsold, now KKR signed him for 2.8 crores.

Recently, KKR’s regular skipper Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of this IPL season, and subsequently the WTC final as well due to a back injury. On the other hand, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has opted out of the IPL.

So there are some vacancies in the squad of Kolkata Knight Riders, to fill that vacancy, KKR has included England Opener Jason Roy in their team.

Roy has previously played for four IPL teams – KKR, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Lions and Sunrisers Hyderabad. His last appearance in the league came in the 2021 season for the Sunrisers, where he scored 150 runs in five games, including a half-century.

The 32-year-old player has played 64 T20Is for England, scoring 1,522 runs at a strike rate of 137.61 with eight fifties.

Also Read: 2023 IPL Schedule, Dates, Match Fixture, Time Table, Venue

Dasun Shanaka to join Gujarat Titans:

Gujarat Titans have signed Sri Lankan limited overs captain Dasun Shanaka to replace the injured Kane Williamson in IPL 2023. Williamson was signed by Gujarat Titans from the IPL 2023 auction for a base price of Rs 2 crore.

However, New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson has been ruled out of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 tournament after sustaining a knee injury in the season-opening match against Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad. With Williamson out, Dasun Shanaka joined the team for the remainder of IPL 2023 for Rs 50 lakh.

Shanaka, who has never featured in the IPL before, has now been signed for his base price of Rs 50 lakh.

Also Read:
1. IPL All Season Points Table and Winners List (2008 to 2022)
2. IPL Orange Cap Winners List From 2008 to 2022

Previous articleBCCI Annual Contracts 2022-23: Jadeja and Axar Get promoted, Samson Earns a Maiden Contract
Next articleTATA IPL 2023: Who is Suyash Sharma? KKR’s New Spin Sensation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here