IPL 2021 Purple Cap List | Purple Cap In IPL 2021

IPL 2021 Purple Cap List | Purple Cap In IPL 2021
IPL 2021 Purple Cap List

The highest wicket-taker in a single edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is awarded the Purple Cap. Here you will find IPL 2021 Purple Cap list. This table shows the statistics of the top wicket-takers of the IPL 2021 season. At the end of the tournament, the bowler at the top of the list will be given a purple cap in IPL 2021.

IPL 2021 Purple Cap List:

Harshal Patel has own the Purple Cap of IPL 2021. He played 15 matches and collected 32 wickets at an economy rate of 8.14.

1Harshal Patel15459325/2714.348.1410.56
2Avesh Khan16450243/1318.757.3715.25
3Jasprit Bumrah14410213/3619.527.4515.71
4Shardul Thakur16527213/2825.098.8017.09
5Mohammad Shami14395193/2120.787.5016.63
6Varun Chakaravarthy17448183/1324.886.5822.66
7Rashid Khan14375183/3620.836.6918.66
8Yuzvendra Chahal15374183/1120.777.0517.66
9Arshdeep Singh12342185/3219.008.2713.77
10Sunil Narine14361164/2122.566.4421.00
11Jason Holder8247164/5215.437.7511.93
12Axar Patel12306153/2120.406.6518.40
13Kagiso Rabada15456153/3630.408.1422.40
14Chris Morris11376154/2325.069.1716.40
15Dwayne Bravo11263143/2418.787.8114.42
16Chetan Sakariya14426143/3130.428.1922.28
17Deepak Chahar15451144/1332.218.3523.14
18Mustafizur Rahman14436143/2031.148.4122.21
19Ravindra Jadeja16346133/1326.617.0622.61
20Rahul Chahar11318134/2724.467.3919.84
21Lockie Ferguson8224133/1817.237.4613.84
22Trent Boult14406133/2831.237.9023.69
23Anrich Nortje8187122/1215.586.1615.16
24Ravi Bishnoi9222123/2418.506.3417.50
25Prasidh Krishna10351123/3029.259.1119.25
26Mohammed Siraj15353113/2732.096.7828.36
27Shivam Mavi9233114/2121.187.2417.54
28Josh Hazlewood9293113/2426.638.3719.09
29Andre Russell10188115/1517.099.8910.36
30Pat Cummins723793/2426.338.8317.88

Also Read: IPL 2021 Orange Cap List | Orange Cap in IPL 2021

What is Purple Cap in IPL 2021:

The top wicket-taker in one edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is awarded the Purple Cap. As the IPL group stage progresses, the award goes from one bowler to another who rises to the top of the Purple Cap holders’ table. At the end of each match, the Purple Cap is transferred to the person at the top of the table. At the end of the tournament, the bowler who picks the most wickets and tops the table with the most wickets is given a purple cap.

Rules for winning IPL Purple Cap:

  1. The Purple Cap was awarded to the highest wicket-taker of the IPL season.
  2. The bowler who has taken the most wickets during the tournament can wear the orange cap while on the field.
  3. In situations where two or more bowlers take the same wickets, the bowler with the lowest economy rate is given the Purple Cap.
  4. In a situation where the opposing bowler of that match crosses the current holder of the Purple Cap, the previous holder is allowed to wear the cap until the end of that particular innings.

Also Read: IPL Orange Cap Winners List From 2008 to 2020

IPL Purple Cap History:

Pakistan fast bowler Sohail Tanvir is the first purple cap winner in the history of IPL. That year (2008) he was playing for Rajasthan Royals. He took 22 wickets in 11 matches in the opening season of the IPL.

RP Singh was the first Indian bowler to win the Purple Cap. The left-arm pace bowler was a part of the Deccan Chargers that year. In the second edition of IPL (2009), he took 23 wickets in 16 matches.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar is the only bowler to have won the purple cap for two consecutive years. He won the purple cap in 2016 and 2017. In 2016, he took 23 wickets in 17 matches, and in 2017, he took 26 wickets in 14 matches. In these two years, he has played for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

In 2020, Kagiso Rabada was the winner of the purple cap. He took 30 wickets in 17 matches for Delhi Capitals.

IPL 2021 Purple Cap List | Purple Cap In IPL 2021

Also Read: Top 10 Biggest Cricket Stadiums In The World In 2021

IPL 2020 Purple Cap Holder List:

1Kagiso Rabada17548304/248.34
2Jasprit Bumrah15404274/146.73
3Trent Boult15457254/187.97
4Anrich Nortje16512223/338.39
5Yuzvendra Chahal15405213/187.08
6Rashid Khan16344203/75.37
7Jofra Archer14365203/196.55
8Mohammad Shami14460203/158.57
9Varun Chakravarthy13356175/206.84
10T Natarajan16504162/248.02
11Rahul Chahar15433152/188.16
12Sandeep Sharma13374143/347.19
13Jason Holder7233143/258.32
14Ravichandran Ashwin15391133/297.66
15Sam Curran14344133/198.19
16Marcus Stoinis17283133/269.53
17Ravi Bishnoi14376123/297.37
18Deepak Chahar14396122/187.61
19Pat Cummins14409124/347.86
20Chris Morris9210114/266.63

Also Read: IPL 2021 new schedule, dates, venue, timetable and live streaming and many more.

Previous articleEngland Announced Squad For The First 2-Tests Against India
Next articleIPL 2021 in UAE: KKR Match Schedule For 2nd Phase of IPL


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here