BCCI confirms the Indian squad for WTC final 2021

On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the final 15-member Indian squad for WTC final (ICC World Test Championship) 2021 against New Zealand. The WTC final will start on June 18 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

On June 15, just hours after New Zealand announced their 15-man squad for the WTC Final, India announced their final squad. Surprisingly, players like KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal were not included in the squad.

Also Read: New Zealand confirmed a 15-man squad for the WTC final against India

Squad Details:

Three are six batsman in the squad, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari.

As Expected Virat Kohli will lead the match and Ajinkya Rahane will be his deputy.

Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha both got chances in the team as wicket keepers. Most likely Saha will not get a place in playing 11. Because seeing to the performance of the last few months, Pant has become the first choice wicket-keeper batsman to the team.

Rabindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are both bowling all-rounders in the squad and will most likely be part of playing 11.

Team India’s pace bowling unit includes Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav. India’s young pace weapon Mohammad Siraj also found a place in the team. Before Shardul Thakur, the management shown faith in Umesh’s experience.

Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal and Washington Sundar have been dropped from the original 20-member squad for the tour of England.

Indian squad for WTC final against New Zealand:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final 2021, Date, Venue, Team Squad, Playing XI and Points Table

Expected Playing 11 of India:

For sure Rohit Sharma will open the final match of the World Test Championship with Shubman Gill.

India’s premier Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara will play in the 3rd position, skipper Virat Kohli will play in the 4th position, then Rahane and Rishabh Pant.

Sir. Jadeja will be perfect for the 7th position with his great fielding, batting and bowling skills. R Ashwin will play at number 8.

Jasprit Bumrah must be a part of the playing 11 out of 5 pacers in the squad. Then any two of Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj. However, based on experience, the chances of Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami are much higher.

But if India enters the field with 4 pacers, then perhaps India’s four pacers will be Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj or Umesh Yadav.

Expected 11:

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Cheteshwar Pujara
  4. Virat Kohli (C)
  5. Ajinkya Rahane (VC)
  6. Rishabh Pant (wk)
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin
  9. Jasprit Bumrah
  10. Ishant Sharma
  11. Mohammed Shami

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *