Indian Cricket Team Captain List (1932-2022): TEST, ODI, T20

If you are looking for the Indian Cricket Team Captain List then this is the perfect article for you. In this article, we have published the information of all the Indian captains since India set foot in the world of cricket in 1932.

On 31 May 1922, India became a full member of the Imperial Cricket Conference (Now known as the International Cricket Council). On 25 June 1932, India became the sixth test country to become a full-time member of the ICC after England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, and New Zealand.

India started playing international cricket in 1932 with the first Test match against England in England. C.K. Nayudu captained India in that match. In the history of Indian cricket, C.K. Nayudu was the first captain of the Indian cricket team.

Currently, Rohit Sharma is the captain of the Men’s Indian Cricket Team in all formats. In this 90-year cricket history, India has seen many captains who have captained India in Test cricket, ODI cricket, or T20 cricket. But till now Virat Kohli is India’s most successful captain after MS Dhoni.

In 1975 India played its first ICC World Cup under Srinivas Venkataghavan. India won the first World Cup under Kapil Dev in 1983.

Here is the all-Indian cricket team captain list, who represented India in all three formats.

Also Read: List Of The Top 10 Biggest Cricket Stadiums In The World In 2022

List of Indian test captains:

A total of 35 players have captained India in Test matches, with Virat Kohli being the most successful with 60% of the wins.

This is the Indian cricket team captain list who has captained in at least one Test match.

1C.K. Nayudu1932-19344031
3Iftikhar Ali Khan Pataudi19463012
4Lala Amarnath1947-195315267
5Vijay Hazare1951-195314158
6Vinoo Mankad1954-19596015
7Ghulam Ahmed1955-19593021
8Polly Umrigar1955-19598224
9Hemu Adhikari1958-591001
10Datta Gaekwad19594040
11Pankaj Roy19591010
12Gulabrai Ramchand1959-19605122
13Nari Contractor1960-196212228
14Mansoor Ali Khan Patuadi1961-19754091912
15Chandu Borde1967-19681010
16Ajit Wadekar1970-197416448
17Srinivas Venkataghavan1974-19795023
18Sunil Gavaskar1975-1985479830
19Bishen Singh Bedi1975-1979226115
20Gundappa Vishwanath1979-19802011
21Kapil Dev1982-1987344723
22Dilip Vengasarkar1987-198910253
23Ravi Shastri1987-19881100
24Krishnamachari Srikkanth1989-19904004
25Mohammad Azharuddin1989-199947141419
26Sachin Tendulkar1996-2000254912
27Saurav Ganguly2000-200649211315
28Rahul Dravid2003-2007258611
29Virendra Sehwag2005-20124211
30Anil Kumble2007-200814356
31M.S. Dhoni2008-201560271815
32Virat Kohli2015-202168401711
33Ajinkya Rahane2017-20216402
34KL Rahul2021-2022+1010
35Rohit Sharma2021-2022+2200
[Indian cricket team captain list in Test Cricket]

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

Indian cricket team captain list
MS Dhoni with all ICC trophies [Image – Getty]

List of Indian ODI captains:

Ajit Wadekar was the first ODI captain of the Indian cricket team. Who became a captain in 1974.

Till now a total of 26 players have led India in ODIs, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni leading the way with 110 wins.

This is the Indian cricket team captain list who has captained in at least one ODI match.

1Ajit Wadekar197420200
2Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan1975-197971600
3Bishen Singh Bedi1975–197841300
4Sunil Gavaskar1980–198537142102
5Gundappa Viswanath198010100
6Kapil Dev1982–199274393302
7Syed Kirmani198310100
8Mohinder Amarnath198410001
9Ravi Shastri1986–1991114700
10Dilip Vengsarkar1987–19881881000
11Krishnamachari Srikkanth1989134801
12Mohammad Azharuddin1989–1999174907626
13Sachin Tendulkar1996–199973234316
14Ajay Jadeja1998–1999138500
15Sourav Ganguly1999–2005146766505
16Rahul Dravid2000–200779423304
17Anil Kumble200111000
18Virender Sehwag2003–2011127500
19Mahendra Singh Dhoni2007–201820011074511
20Suresh Raina2010126501
21Gautam Gambhir2010-201166000
22Virat Kohli2013–Present95652712
23Ajinkya Rahane201533000
24Rohit Sharma2017–20191311200
25Shikhar Dhawan202132100
26KL Rahul2022+30300
[Indian cricket team captain list in ODI cricket]

Also Read: ICC Rankings Men’s Cricket Teams and Players

List of Indian T20 captains:

On December 1, 2006, India played their first T20 match against South Africa in Johannesburg.

Virender Sehwag led the Indian team in this first T20 match. In that match, India won by 6 wickets against South Africa.

The Indian team in the 1st T-20 match was: Virender Sehwag (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh  Mongia, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh  Karthik, Suresh  Raina, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Sreesanth

Till now a total of six players has led India in the T20s, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni being the most successful captain with 41 wins.

This is the Indian cricket team captain list who have captained in at least one T20 International.

1Virender Sehwag200611000
2Mahendra Singh Dhoni2007–201672412812
3Suresh Raina2010–201133000
4Ajinkya Rahane201521100
5Virat Kohli2017–present45291402
6Rohit Sharma2017–2022+2824400
7Shikhar Dhawan202131200
[Indian cricket team captain list in T20 cricket]

Also Read: India’s Schedule For The Next World Test Championship 2021-2023


1. Who was the first captain of the Indian cricket team?

Answer: Colonel CK Nayudu was the first captain in the history of the Indian cricket team. He first led the Indian team against England at Lords, in 1932. He led the Indian team in 4 Tests. In which 3 matches were lost and 1 was drawn.

2. Who was the first ODI captain for India?

Answer: Stylish left-arm batsman Ajit Wadekar was India’s first ODI captain. Under his leadership, India played its first ODI against England in Leeds on 13 July 1974. He scored 67 runs in that match. He led the Indian team in just 2 one day matches.

3. Who was the first captain of the Indian cricket team after Independence?

Answer: Lala Amarnath was the first Test cricket captain of the independent Indian team. He was a great all-rounder. He is best remembered as the first Indian to score a Test century in his debut match against England in 1933. He was also the first captain to lead India to their first-ever Test victory.

4. Who is the most successful captain in Test cricket?

Answer: Virat Kohli, the great batsman of modern times, is the most successful Indian captain in the longest format. So far as captain he has played 68 Test matches in which he has won 40, lost 17, and drawn 11.

Based on the winning percentage, the Indian team under his leadership has won almost 60% of the matches. That is far more than the winning percentage of all Indian captains. Recently, under his leadership, the Indian team played in the final of the inaugural World Test Championship.

5. Who is the most successful captain in T20 cricket?

Answer: Mahendra Singh Dhoni ( MS Dhoni) is the most successful Indian captain in T20 cricket. As a captain, he has led the Indian team in a total of 72 matches. Out of which 41 have won, 28 have lost and 2 have been drawn.

Conclusion: In this article, we have prepared the Indian cricket team captain list. Most of the information we have used in this article is based on various information available on the internet. So we apologize for any mistake in this article. But don’t worry, we have tried our best to make the article accurate.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *