India Announce Test & T20I Squad For Sri Lanka Series 2022

India Test and T20I Squad For Sri Lanka Series 2022

India Announce Test & T20I Squad For Sri Lanka Series 2022: The BCCI has announced the India T20I and Test squads for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka on Saturday evening. Rohit Sharma, who was appointed as India’s ODI and T20 captain a few months ago, has also been named as a full-time captain in the Test format.

Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the Test captain after Virat Kohli stepped down as Test captain following the South Africa series loss in January 2022. On the other side, Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as T20 & Test vice-captain.

Regarding making Rohit the captain, the chairman of the selection committee Chetan Sharma said, “He is the No 1 player of our team and plays all the formats. Time and again we will be speaking to him.”

Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara have been dropped from the Test squad for the 2022 Sri Lanka series. Also, senior wicket-keeper batsman Riddhiman Saha and pacer Ishant Sharma have been dropped from the squad.

“We thought long and hard before arriving at decision. We have spoken to them before and told them that they won’t be part of two tests against Sri Lanka. Doors are totally open to them. It’s just for these two tests,” said Chetan Sharma (selection committee head).

Sharma also said,” They have served the country for long, so they can always come back, why not? It’s like a graph. .. Rahane hit a hundred yesterday. this is a process of managing…Who wouldn’t be happy if they come back.”

Uncapped left-arm spinner Sourav Kumar has been named in the squad where KS Bharat has been named as the backup keeper. Opener Priyank Panchal, who was part of the recent tour of South Africa, has been retained. Shubhaman Gill and Rabindra Jadeja have also returned to the Test squad after recovering from injuries.

IND vs SL Series Schedule 2022:


1st T20Feb 24, 2022Lucknow
2nd T20Feb 26, 2022Dharamsala
3rd T20Feb 27, 2022Dharamsala


1st TestMar 4 to Mar 8, 2022Mohali
2nd TestMar 12 to Mar 16, 2022Bengaluru

India Test & T20I Squad For Sri Lanka Series 2022:

T20I Squad:  Rohit Sharma (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

Test Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat Hanuma Vihari, Ravichandran Ashwin (subject to fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

ALSO READ: TATA IPL 2022: Full Squad of All 10 IPL Teams

Previous articleTATA IPL 2022: Full Squad of All 10 IPL Teams
Next articleIPL 2022 Points Table | IPL Points Table 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here