IND vs SA: Washington Sundar replaces Chahar for the last 2 ODIs

IND vs SA: Washington Sundar replaces Chahar for the last 2 ODIs
Washington Sundar (Image Source - Getty)

IND vs SA 2022: All-rounder Washington Sundar replaces Deepak Chahar for the last 2 ODI Internationals against South Africa because Deepak Chahar experienced stiffness in his back during the third and final T20I against South Africa and has been ruled out of the ODI series after having missed the first match in Lucknow.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made the announcement on Saturday (October 8). BCCI also announced that Chahar will report to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru and will be monitored by the medical team there.

Also Read: List of Top 10 Biggest Cricket Stadiums in The World in 2022

Meanwhile, Chahar is part of the standby list of the Indian squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup, and the Indian team management hopes that he will be fit for the marquee event in time.

IND vs SA: Washington Sundar replaces Chahar for the last 2 ODIs
Indian Pacer Deepak Chahar [Image Source – Getty Images]

Washington Sundar, who has featured in four ODIs so far, played the last of those against West Indies in Ahmedabad in February this year.

After losing the first match of the 3-match ODI series, India left for Ranchi to play the second ODI. The third match of the series will be played in New Delhi.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

In the 1st ODI, South Africa set India a target of 250 in a match reduced to 40 overs per side. Sanju Samson played a great inning of 86 runs off 63 balls to chase the target. Despite half-centuries from Sanju Samson and Shreyas Iyer, India failed to chase down the target and South Africa took a 1-0 lead in the series.

India squad for South Africa ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Washington Sundar.

Previous articleTim David Included in Australia’s T20 World Cup Squad 2022
Next articleICC T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Team, Venue, Time Table & Points Table


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here