ICC World Test Championship Final 2021, Date, Venue, Team Squad, Playing XI and Points Table

ICC world test championship final match 2021
ICC world test championship final match 2021. Image Source - Getty Images

India and New Zealand are the two teams that will play the final match of the world test championship. The ICC World Test Championship (2019-2021) is the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship in the history of Test cricket. It started with the first Test of the 2019 Ashes series on 1 August 2019.

Nine full member nations of the ICC participated in this world test championship, namely India, Pakistan, South Africa, England, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies.  Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe, three full members of the ICC Test cricket, did not take part in the tournament. Because these three full member nations are at the bottom of the ICC test rankings and these three nations have played only a handful of Test matches.

The COVID-19 epidemic affects championship fixers. In March 2020, the second Test between Pakistan and Bangladesh was postponed due to the pandemic. Later that month, a two-match series between Sri Lanka and England was also postponed. The West Indies tour of England and Australia’s Bangladesh tour was postponed the following month.

In June 2020, a two-match series between Bangladesh and New Zealand and a three-match series between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were suspended. The tour of South Africa with the West Indies was also postponed. After that ICC changed the points table by making new rules.

ICC World Test Championship Points Table:

2New Zealand1174042070.0%
6West Indies1136220033.3%
7South Africa1138014430.0%
8Sri Lanka1226420027.8%
ICC World Test Championship Points Table

ICC World Test Championship 2021 Starting Date And Venue:

The two teams at the top of the points table will play the final of the world test championship. That means the final match will be India vs New Zealand. The final match will start from 18 Jun to 22 Jun. The match will be held at The Rose Bowl in Southampton at 3.30 PM (10.00 AM GMT / 11:00 AM LOCAL).

Indian team squad for the final match of the world test championship (WTC) 2021:

The All India Senior Selection Committee has announced the Indian squad for ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final and the five-match Test series against England. Prominent players like Prithvi Shaw, Hardik Pandya, Bhubaneswar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav have failed to make the squad.

Indian all-rounder Rabindra Jadeja and lower middle-order batsman Hanuma Bihari have retained their places in the squad.

Team India has selected Avesh Khan, Prashid Krishna and Arjan Nagwaswala as the fastest bowlers as their reserve players and Bengal batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran as the batsman.

Indian squad: 

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance). 

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Also Read: Asia Cup of 2021 officially postponed to 2023 due to compact schedule in the cricket calendar

India’s Probable Playing XI for World Test Championship (WTC) Final:

Virat Kohli and Co will leave for England in the first week of June, after which they will have to abide by the rules of quarantine for a few days. The last time India played a Test at the Southampton Bowl was in 2018, where they lost by 60 runs in the second innings. But the good thing is that Virat Kohli and Pujara scored 58 and 132 runs respectively in that match.

However, no question about it, Rohit Sharma will open the innings along with young star Shubman Gill or Mayank Agarwal, but in this case, Gill’s chances of the opening are a little high.

For sure dependable Pujara will play in one down followed by Indian skipper Virat Kohli. Indian vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane will play at no 5. Rishabh Pant, one of the current best wicket-keeper batsmen for Team India, will hold his place at No. 6.

Sir Jadeja a great fielder, a great bowler, a great batsman at number 7. Jadeja will return to international cricket after a finger injury. Definitely, Jadeja’s presence will boost team India. Ravichandran Ashwin, who has taken more than 400 wickets in Tests, will play at no 8.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma will handle the fast bowling department. Now let’s see how the Indian pace trio can handle New Zealand’s star batsmen like Tom Blundell, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Henry Nicholls.

India’s Potential Playing XI:

  1. Rohit Sharma,
  2. Shubman Gill,
  3. Cheteshwar Pujara,
  4. Virat Kohli (c),
  5. Ajinkya Rahane,
  6. Rishabh Pant (wk),
  7. Ravindra Jadeja,
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin,
  9. Jasprit Bumrah,
  10. Mohammed Shami,
  11. Ishant Sharma.

New Zealand’s squad for world test championship final:

New Zealand has announced a 20-member squad keeping an eye on the World Test final. The team will be led by Ken Williamson. There are three uncapped players in the squad – Rachin Rabindra, Devon Conway and Jacob Duffy.

New Zeland Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wk), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Tom Blundell, Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, Doug Bracewell, Matt Henry, Will Young

Probable playing XI of New Zealand for the World Test Championship final:

  1. Tom Blundell
  2. Tom Latham
  3. Kane Williamson
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Henry Nicholls
  6. BJ Watling (wk)
  7. Colin de Grandhomme
  8. Kyle Jamieson
  9. Tim Southee
  10. Neil Wagner
  11. Trent Boult

Previous articleAsia Cup of 2021 officially postponed to 2023
Next articleBCCI will conduct the remaining matches of VIVO IPL 2021 in UAE


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here