ICC T20 World Cup 2021 shifted to UAE, BCCI has confirmed

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly has confirmed that the upcoming edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, which was supposed to be held in India, has now been shifted to the United Arab Emirates.

Cricket Board of India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly told PTI that the board had already informed the International Cricket Council (ICC) about the incident.

“We have officially intimated the ICC that the T20 World Cup 2021 can be shifted to the United Arab Emirates. The details are being chalked out,” Ganguly told PTI.

Also Read : List of all captains in the history of the Indian cricket team: TEST, ODI and T20

During the last board meeting with the ICC, the ICC gave the BCCI four weeks window to decide and inform whether India could host the T20 World Cup 2021, which ends today, June 28.

Within the allotted time, the BCCI has decided that conducting tournaments in India is not ideal at the moment.

Due to the Covid-19 situation around the world, the International Cricket Council (ICC) cancelled the T20 World Cup to be held in Australia last year. This is what helped India to host this event.

Seeing the current situation in India due to the Corona epidemic, the BCCI was forced to relocate it to the United Arab Emirates. However, the BCCI has the hosting rights for the T20 World Cup 2021, the ICC has previously confirmed that.

There has been speculation that The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will start on October 17 and end with the final on November 14.

BCCI secretary Joy Shah said, the ICC would make an announcement soon.

“We will inform the International Cricket Council today that we are shifting T20 World Cup to UAE. Dates will be decided by the ICC,” Shah told ANI.

Also Read: India’s Schedule For The Next World Test Championship 2021-2023

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 qualifying round:

A total of 12 teams will take part in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. India, Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan will enter the 12-team space directly.

For the remaining four-place, eight teams – Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia, Scotland and Papua New Guinea will play 12 matches. Four of these teams will enter the Super 12.

At the end of the June 1st meeting, the ICC said it was looking for another venue besides the three venues in the UAE – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Stadium and Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

According to BCCI secretary Jay Shah, the BCCI is considering holding the first round of the World Cup in Oman.

In addition to other teams, Oman has qualified for the T20 World Cup 2021. So Oman can host the first-round games.

Also Read: Asia Cup of 2021 officially postponed to 2023 due to packed schedule in the cricket calendar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *