England Announced Squad For The First 2-Tests Against India

England Announced Squad For The First 2-Tests Against India
England Announced Squad For The First 2-Tests Against India

The England has announced a 17-member squad for the first two Tests of the upcoming five-match Test series against India. The Test series between England and India will start on August 4 in Nottingham. The series will also mark the start of the second ICC World Test Championship (2021-2023).

Haseeb Hameed and Ollie Robinson have been added to the 17 members England squad Against India . Oli Robinson has been brought back to the England Test squad for the first time since being banned for offensive historical tweets.

England head coach Chris Silverwood has said about Oli Robinson’s re-selection –

“We have selected Ollie Robinson after his seven-wicket Test debut against New Zealand. Ollie proved in that Test that he has the ability to replicate his outstanding form in the County Championship at the international level and we will continue to work with him to develop his England career.”

Also Read: CPL 2021 Schedule: Date, Fixture, Time-Table, Squad, Venue, Teams And More

On the other hand, Hamid last got a place in England’s Test squad in three matches during the 2016 tour of India. He was ruled out due to poor form but has been called up again for a good run this season. The opener has scored 642 runs at an average of 45.85 from nine matches in the county championship and has scored two centuries and four fifties.

England Squad: Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.

Two big names are missing in the England squad for India 2021:

Jofra Archer and Chris Woakes will miss the series due to injuries. However, Chris Woakes is expected to recover quickly from injury and return to the series later.

Speaking about this 5 match Test series between England and India, England’s head coach Chris Silverwood said –

“A home Test series against India is one of the most anticipated red-ball series and this promises to be an outstanding five Tests,”

“India are a quality team who have shown their ability to get results away from home. We are expecting a highly competitive series and have selected our strongest possible squad.

Also Read: Biopic Of Sourav Ganguly Confirmed: Ranbir Kapoor Will Act As Sourav Ganguly

Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran and Ben Stokes have been added to England’s 17 members squad.

“The returns of all-rounders Ben Stokes and Sam Curran provide balance that allows us to get back to a structure that has been successful in Test cricket. Ben’s leadership in the series against Pakistan, when he played despite his finger not yet being 100 percent, typified his character and commitment that drives the players around him forward. With Jos and Jonny back in the squad, we have added further experience and quality that will be needed against the world’s second-ranked team.” said Chris Silverwood.

Recently Ben Stoks led the ODI team against Pakistan in an emergency due to the isolation of 16 England players after the outbreak of Covid-19. Where Pakistan lost 3-0 to England led by Ben Stokes.

Previous articleIPL 2021 Orange Cap List | Orange Cap in IPL 2021
Next articleIPL 2021 Purple Cap List | Purple Cap In IPL 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here