England Announce Squads For T20I and ODI Series vs India

IND vs ENG: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Friday announced squads for the upcoming three-match T20I series and ODI series against India.

The three-match T20 series between England and India will start on July 7 and the three international matches will start on July 12. The two teams are currently playing in the rescheduled fifth Test starting in Birmingham on Friday (July 1).

This is England’s first white ball series since Eoin Morgan announced his retirement from international cricket. The England and Wales Cricket Board has appointed Jos Butler as England’s ODI and T20 captain on Thursday (June 30), so Jos Butler will lead England against India.

Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow rested for the T20I series:

England has decided to rest Test captain Ben Stokes and in-form batsman Johnny Bairstow in the T20 series. They are both playing their fourth consecutive Test match and Bairstow has played in the Indian Premier League (IPL) before that.

Significantly, spinner Adil Rashid is absent from both the T20 and ODI teams. The England Cricket Board allowed him to miss the series to make The Hodge Pilgrimage to Mecca. In his absence, Matt Parkinson got a chance in the limited-overs format.

On the other hand, Richard Gleason has been called up to the T20 squad for the first time and Harry Brook is on both sides of the white ball for the upcoming series.

England’s squads for T20I and ODI Series against India:

England’s T20I squad: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Matthew Parkinson, Reece Topley, David Willey.

England’s ODI squad: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Craig Overton, Matthew Parkinson, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey.

ENG vs IND T20I and ODI series schedule:

Schedule of T20I series to be held between England and India:

  • 1st T20I – July 7 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton,
  • 2nd T20I – July 9 at Edgbaston
  • 3rd T20I – July 10 at Nottingham’s Trent Bridge.

Schedule of ODI series to be held between England and India:

  • 1st ODI – July 12 at The Oval
  • 2nd ODI – July 14 at Lord’s
  • 3rd ODI -July 17 at Old Trafford.

Also Read: BCCI announces India’s squads for ODI and T20I series against England

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *