England Announce Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021

England Announce Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021
England Men's Cricket Team [Image - Getty]

England Cricket on Thursday announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which starts on October 17 in the UAE and Oman.

Meanwhile, Ben Stokes has been dropped from England’s announced squad. Stokes is currently on indefinite leave from cricket for mental recovery and to recover from a finger injury.

On the other hand, fast bowlers Tymal Mills and Chris Woakes have been included in England’s 15-man preliminary squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Also Read: BCCI Announces Team India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Mills last played international cricket in February 2016 but has been included in the squad for several outstanding performances on behalf of Sussex in the T20 Blast, and Southern Brave, the inaugural winner of The Hundred.

Captain Eoin Morgan had earlier hinted at Mills’ selection. Mills has been selected in the squad for his speed, left-handed angle, and ability to bowl to death.

England Squad For T20 World Cup 2021:

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Traveling reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule, Date, Venue, Teams, Groups, Time, and More

Chris Woakes last played in the T20 series against Sri Lanka earlier this summer and has bowled 3.24 economy in his two matches. Again Woakes’s ability to bowl in the powerplay is a huge asset for the team, especially in the absence of Jofra Archer, who has already been ruled out for the rest of the year due to an elbow injury.

The England squad includes the world’s number one T20 batsmen – Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan, Jos Butler, Jonny Bairstow, and Jason Roy in the batting department. Sam Billings has been selected as the backup wicket-kipper batsman.

Despite the possible spin-friendly nature of the UAE conditions, only two frontline spinners have been selected in the England squad, Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid. Livingstone can bowl spin maybe he will act as England’s third spinner.

Also Read: Australia Announces Their Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Along with Mark Wood and Chris Jordan, three left-arm fast-bowlers Tymal Mills, David Willey, and Sam Curran are in the squad in the pace department.

Surrey’s Tom Curran and Hampshire pair Liam Dawson and James Vince have been selected as traveling reserves.

Previous articleBCCI Announces Team India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
Next articleSouth Africa Announces Squad For The T20 World Cup 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here