BCCI Announces Team India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

BCCI Announces Team India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021
Indian Men's Cricket Team [Image - Getty]

On Wednesday day (September 8) BCCI has announced a 15-member team India squad for T20 World Cup 2021, which is going to start from September 17 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman. As expected Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team and Rohit Sharma will be his deputy.

While announcing the squad on Wednesday, BCCI secretary Joy Shah said former India captain MS Dhoni would also be with the Indian team as a mentor for the tournament.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has already announced the schedule for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Team India will enter the tournament as one of the favorites to win the trophy.

According to the T20 world cup 2021 schedule released by ICC, the qualifying round of the 2021 T20 World Cup tournament will start on October 17 and the main event will start on September 23. Meanwhile, the final of the event will be held on November 14.

Team India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021:

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan, who recently captained the limited-overs side in Sri Lanka, has also been left out from the team Indian squad for T20 world cup 2021 along with the T20 specialist wrist-spin duo Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

On the other hand, Ravichandran Ashwin returned to the Indian T20 team. R Ashwin last played a T20 for the country against the West Indies in July 2017 but most recently he played in five of eight matches for the Delhi Capitals in the 2021 IPL, and his bowling economy was 7.73.

Notable additions to the squad are Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, and Ishan Kishan (Backup WK).

T20 World Cup 2021 India Squad:
1. Rohit Sharma (VC), 2. KL Rahul, 3. Ishan Kishan (WK), 4. Virat Kohli (C), 5. Suryakumar Yadav, 6. Rishabh Pant (WK), 7. Ravichandran Ashwin 8. Hardik Pandya, 9. Ravindra Jadeja, 10. Axar Patel, 11. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 12. Jasprit Bumrah, 13. Mohammed Shami, 14. Rahul Chahar, 15. Varun Chakravarthy

Reserved Players:
1. Shreyas Iyer, 2. Deepak Chahar, 3. Shardul Thakur

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule, Date, Venue, Teams, Groups, Time, and More

India’s schedule for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Notably, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan are in Group B of the tournament. India, led by Virat Kohli, will begin their journey with a high-voltage battle against arch-rivals Pakistan.

Whether it is the T20 World Cup or the 50-over World Cup, Pakistan does not have a good record against India in the World Cup event. India has always dominated Pakistan.

After the Pakistan match Indian team will play against New Zealand on October 31, Afghanistan on November 3, and the qualifying team (B-1) in the Super 12 on November 5.

BCCI Announces Team India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021
India vs Pakistan [Photo – Twitter]
24th October 2021India vs Pakistan7:30 PMDubai
31st October 2021India vs New Zealand7:30 PMDubai
3rd November 2021India vs Afghanistan7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
5th November 2021India vs B17:30 PMDubai
8th November 2021India vs A27:30 PM Dubai

Also Read: ICC Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Groups list:

BCCI Announces Team India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021
ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Group List [Image Credit – ICC]

The ICC has released the schedule of the 2021 T20 World Cup as well as the group list. According to the T20 world cup 2021 group list released by ICC, group 1 includes England, Australia, South Africa, and the West Indies.

On the other hand, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan have been placed in Group-2. Also, four teams from the qualifying round will join the main round.

Also Read: Australia Announces Their Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Previous articleIPL All Season Points Table and Winners List (2008 to 2022)
Next articleEngland Announce Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here