Australia Announces Their Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Australia squad for T20 World Cup 2021 announced
Australia men's cricket team [Image source - Getty]

Australia Squad For T20 World Cup 2021: Australia on Thursday (August 1) announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021, which starts on September 17 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. Aaron Finch has been named Australia’s captain for the upcoming T20 world cup.

Aaron Finch, who recently underwent knee surgery and will need several weeks to recover, has been included in the squad along with Steve Smith, who has recovered from an elbow injury.

Along with Finch and Smith, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins and Ken Richardson will also be back in action after missing the Caribbean and Bangladesh tour in July-August.

In addition to the big names, selectors have included uncapped wicket-keeper-batsman Josh Inglis before Alex Kerry, Who led Australia to the West Indies ODI series in the absence of Finch. Recently, Inglis finished the group stage of the Vitality T20 Blast in England as the main run-scorer of the competition.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule Announced: IND vs PAK?

Josh Inglis is an uncapped player at the international level, a wicketkeeper-batsman who can play both in the opener and in the middle order. In terms of form over the last 12 months in all three formats of domestic cricket, Inglis has been chosen as the reserve keeper before Alex Carey and Josh Philippe, who have toured the Caribbean and Bangladesh.

Along with Warner, Finch, Smith, Maxwell and Stoinis Australian batting will be strong in the presence of Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade.

In addition to the star batting line-up, Australia has added their main pace weapons like Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson and Mitchell Starc in the squad.

Legspinner Mitchell Swepson, who has played in the West Indies and Bangladesh recently, has been included in the squad as the third spinner alongside Adam Jampa and Ashton Agar.

Also Read: New Zealand Announces Squad for The T20 World Cup 2021

Carey and Philippe are not the only notable exceptions, along with these two Moises Henriques, Ashton Turner and Andrew Tie is not included in the 15-man squad.

All-rounders Dan Christian and Daniel Sams have been named as reserve players along with pacer Nathan Ellis, who recently picked a hat-trick during his debut in Bangladesh. All three will travel with the squad for the big event.

Australia, who have never won a tournament before, will begin their super 12 campaign on October 23 against South Africa.

Australia Squad For T20 World Cup 2021:

Australia Squad: Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa
Reserve Players: Dan Christian, Daniel Sams, Nathan Ellis

Also Read: ICC Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

Previous articleICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule Announced: IND vs PAK?
Next articleRCB sign Hasaranga, Chameera and Tim David for UAE IPL 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here