Australia announced a strong 23 men squad for the West Indies tour in July 2021

Cricket Australia has initially announced a 23-men squad for the upcoming white-ball tour of the West Indies in July 2021, which includes five T-20 Internationals and three ODIs. These matches will take place in July 2021 across St. Lucia and Barbados. Australia has again welcomed their big names for an eight-match limited-overs tour of the Caribbean. In a word, the Australian squad for the West Indies tour is full of Australian star players.

The team will be led by Aaron Finch and this Seris will feature the return of Steve Smith, Mitchell Stark, Josh Hazlewood, David Warner and Pat Cummins, all of whom missed the New Zealand tour.

Marnus Labuchagan, who is currently playing for Glamorgan at the county championships, will miss the tour due to travel from the UK and the related quarantine process. As a result, He should be separated for two weeks.

“Anyone who knows Marnus understands he would give absolutely anything to play for Australia and he is deeply upset to miss out due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control,” Hohns said.

“We are very fortunate to have some incredibly dynamic batsmen through the entire order who can be match-winners on any given day,” Hohns said.

The inclusion of Josh Phillips in the squad has added another top-order option behind  Aaron Finch, David Warner and Steve Smith, with Kerry and Matthew Wade appearing as third wicketkeepers.

Along with Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy shorts also include big hit all-rounders Marcus Stones, Mitch Marsh and Mies Henriques.

There are also three leg-spinners in the squad Tanveer Sangha, Mitchel Swepson and Adam Zampa. National Selector Trevor Hohns said the focus was on the upcoming T20 World Cup in picking three leg-spinners in the squad, with finger-spinner Ashton Agar.

“Mitch Swepson has been in exceptional form across all three forms of the game. His Big Bash performances with the Heat have been superb, as was his bowling for Queensland,” Hohns said.

“Tanveer Sangha was extremely impressive for the Sydney Thunder and we regard him very highly.”

“Along with the class of Adam and Ashton, we are very fortunate to have four highly capable spinners on this list.”

The fast bowlers in the squad are Ken Richardson, J Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Andrew Tye, Pat Cummins, Mitchel Stark and Hazlewood. Speedster Riley Meredith also got a place in the squad.

Australian squad for West Indies Tour in July 2021: 

Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Alex Carey, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Philippe, Moises Henriques, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Tanveer Sangha, Mitchell Swepson,  Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff,  Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood,   Riley Meredith,  Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson,   Mitchell Starc,   Andrew Tye,

Match schedule for Australia vs West Indies series 2021:

1st T20: July 9, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia, 7.30 pm (July 10, 9.30 am AEST)

2nd T20: July 10, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia, 7.30 pm (July 11, 9.30 am AEST)

3rd T20: July 12, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia, 7.30 pm (July 13, 9.30 am AEST)

4thT20: July 14, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia, 7.30 pm (July 15, 9.30 am AEST)

5th T20: July 16, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia, 7.30 pm (July 17, 9.30 am AEST)

1st ODI: July 20 Kensington Oval, Barbados, 2.30 pm D/N (July 21, 4.30 am AEST)

2nd ODI: July 22 Kensington Oval, Barbados, 2.30 pm D/N (July 23, 4.30 am AEST)

3rd ODI: July 24 Kensington Oval, Barbados, 2.30 pm D/N (July 25, 4.30 am AEST)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *